The Forgotten Word

Posted on

The word,

That has the timid choking

Playing skip-rope

With the heart

Making it jump, and skip

A beat.

 

The word,

That works between

Two other words,

To make a three-letter phrase

That leaves many dumb-founded.

 

Once I heard it

For the first

I’ll admit,

My heart pounded.

 

A word, full of feeling

The easiest form, of verbal expression

Four letters, Of boundless affection

A word that describes,

Life’s

Only

Valuable

Emotion.

 

-Dante

 

11 thoughts on “The Forgotten Word

    forgottenmeadows said:
    July 21, 2014 at 1:49 PM

    o simply beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚ I missed your poetry!

    Original-Dante responded:
    July 21, 2014 at 2:08 PM

    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    stacilys said:
    November 4, 2015 at 4:22 PM

    This one is phenomenal. Sort of a double meaning for me.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

      Original-Dante responded:
      November 4, 2015 at 5:23 PM

      Thank you very much! ๐Ÿ™‚

        stacilys said:
        November 4, 2015 at 7:11 PM

        ๐Ÿ™‚

    pixieannie said:
    February 8, 2016 at 1:09 PM

    Oh yes, super awesome wonderful. That reminds me, I’m skipping tomorrow morning. This has such great flow and energy. I’m not surprised it is one of your favourites.

    I must stop poking around in here, delightful as it is, and actually do some more work. I shall return.

      Original-Dante responded:
      February 8, 2016 at 1:18 PM

      And I shall be waiting my friend…and by waiting I mean looking over your blog stalker-style…its been a while since I found an interesting poetry blog ๐Ÿ™‚

        pixieannie said:
        February 8, 2016 at 1:27 PM

        Oh my. Well, I never started this as a poetry blog but you will find poetry and lots of it. The early stuff from a few months ago is…well…you know, just that and the rest, take it as you find it. Now I’m writing between here and the other place.

        Original-Dante responded:
        February 8, 2016 at 1:30 PM

        Well, im enjoying what i’m reading so far…you have a gift ๐Ÿ™‚

        pixieannie said:
        February 8, 2016 at 1:31 PM

        Thank you. Now you need to say something horrible so that I don’t start believing you.

    Original-Dante responded:
    February 8, 2016 at 1:35 PM

    uhhhh..I had a threesome with Harley Quinn and Wonder Woman hehe

Leave a Reply

