The Self-Importance Purganomics.

When I say. “Why me?”, to my misfortune

I presuppose others as lesser beings —

Lesser beings more deserving of whatever I’m going through.

In truth, I should ask. “Why not me?”

Because no one else should take my place

— If I can help it.

– O.D. ©2024

Art by: DigMyNovaArt

Who exactly is supposed to receive the misfortune I’ll be experiencing on my behalf? None but me. Instead of wondering why it’s happening, it’s important to come to terms with the fact that it has happened. Hoping for anything else makes about as much sense as unringing a bell. 

Mourn and grieve if you have to. Go through all the stages of loss. Take your time. The pain will be uniquely tailored to your human experience. It’s not a race.

(Side note: I often encourage those around me to learn to sit with their discomfort so that when it returns, it’s not a complete stranger)

And maybe after all is said and done. Look at what happened from every possible angle. Consider the changes, the good and the bad. You might just notice a blessing.

And if you don’t notice? Perhaps the experience taught you something instead? Which is, in a way, a different kind of blessing, no?

Whatever happens, don’t regret what happened. Instead, learn.

As a believer of God, I believe my creator gives me challenges I’m equipped to handle. And just because I’m a devout Christian does not mean I’m exempt from suffering. In fact, suffering comes as a result of following Christ. And none know suffering more than our Lord and Savior who died on the cross.

********

Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul? For the Son of Man is going to come with his angels in the glory of his Father, and then he will repay each person according to what he has done. Truly, I say to you, there are some standing here who will not taste death until they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom.” – Matthew 16:24-28

3 Replies to “The Self-Importance Purganomics.”

Leave a comment